GA PROGRAM2019-04-19T10:25:04+02:00

19 May 2019

02:00 PM – 06:00 PM

WFO Board meeting (closed meeting)

02:00 PM – 08:00 PM

WFO General Assembly registration open

20 May 2019

08:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Registration open

08:00 AM – 09:00 AM

Slot available for WFO Constituencies’ Meeting

09:00 AM – 01:00 PM

Three Parallel Sessions

01:00 PM – 02:00 PM

Lunch (Slot available for WFO Working Groups’ meetings)

02:00 PM – 06:00 PM

Three Parallel Sessions

06:00 PM – 08:00 PM

Light Networking Dinner

08:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Opening Ceremony

Due to urgent institutional commitments of the Government of Luxembourg, the opening ceremony has been postponed at 08:00 PM


  • Mr Camille Schroeder, President, Baueren Allianz, Luxembourg

  • H.E. Mr Xavier Bettel, Prime Minister of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

  • Dr Theo De Jager, President, World Farmers’ Organisation

  • H.E. Mr Mario Arvelo, Permanent Representative of the Dominican Republic to the Rome-based UN Agencies and Chairman of the United Nations Committee on World Food Security

  • Dr Jean-Jacques Soula, World Organisation for Animal Health, OIE

  • Ms Judith Kons, Head of Division 625, Global Forum on Food and Agriculture, GFFA, Germany

WFO AWARD - WFO would like to honour all the women farmers who are contributing to a better agricultural sector and a better world through their leadership in farmers’ organisations.

Introduction by Dr Theo De Jager, President, World Farmers’ Organisation

  • Ms Katrina Sarah Milne, President, Federated Farmers of New Zealand, New Zealand

  • Ms Minette Batters, President, UK National Farmers Union, UK

  • Ms Sonja de Becker, President, Boerenbond, Belgium

  • Ms Veronica Barbati, President, Coldiretti Youth, Italy

  • Ms Mary Robinson, President, Canadian Federation of Agriculture, Canada

  • Ms Fiona Simson, President, National Farmers’ Federation Australia, Australia

  • Ms Elizabeth Mpofu, General Coordinator, La Via Campesina

  • Ms Elizabeth Nsimadala, President, Eastern Africa Farmers Federation, EAFF

  • Ms Marianne Streel, President, Fédération Wallonne de l'Agriculture, Belgium

  • Ms Elisabeth Atangana, President, Concertation Nationale des Organisations Paysannes du Cameroun, Cameroun

  • Ms Agita Hauka, President, Latvian Farmers’ Federation, Latvia

  • Ms Christiane Lambert, President, FNSEA, France

  • Ms Teresa Hałas, President, NSZZ RI Solidarność, Poland

  • Ms An Sarun, President, Cambodian Farmers Association Federation of Agricultural Producers, Cambodia

  • Mr Laurent Frantz, Vice-President, Baueren Allianz, Luxembourg

  • H.E. Ms Carole Dieschbourg, Minister for the Environment, Luxembourg

  • H.E. Mr Romain Schneider, Minister of Agriculture, Viticulture and Rural Development, Luxembourg

10:00 PM – 01:AM

Drink buffet

21 May 2019
Internal Session for WFO Members only

08:00 AM – 09:00 AM

Slot available for WFO Constituencies’ Meetings

08:30 AM – 06:00 PM

Registration open

09:00 AM – 01:00 PM

WFO Ordinary Internal Session

01:00 PM – 02:00 PM


02:00 PM – 04:00 PM

WFO Ordinary Internal Session (continued)

04:00 PM – 05:00 PM

WFO Extraordinary Internal Session

05:00 PM – 06:00 PM

WFO Ordinary Internal Session

All day

Optional cultural programme for the participants who are not involved
in the WFO Internal Session
07:30 PM

Gala Dinner at Steinmetz Restaurant - for all the participants

22 May 2019
Plenary High-Level Session “The Farmers’ Route”

09:00 AM – 09.15 AM

Introduction by Mr Dimitri Houtart, Food & Rural Affairs Editor, BBC

Video message from Dr Graziano da Silva, Director General, Food and Agriculture Organization, FAO

09:15 AM – 12:15 PM

Food System Dialogue

The Food Systems Dialogues (FSDs) are a global series of facilitated round-table discussions that encourage collective action for transforming food systems. In the future, everyone should be able to access nutritious and healthy diets from food produced in a sustainable manner. FSDs bring together diverse actors in food systems (with expertise in farming, public health, food and beverage, catering, marketing, humanitarian action) from farmers, governments, civil society, business and academia, to share perspectives, examine opportunities and understand trade-offs for change.
Since their launch in June 2018, FSDs have taken place in Stockholm, Oslo, NYC, New Delhi, Vienna, Katowice, Davos, Jakarta, Melbourne and Addis Ababa and Nairobi involving more than 700 practitioners from multiple organizations.

You are invited to the Luxembourg Food Systems Dialogues (FSDs) event, co-organized with the World Farmers’ Organisation, WFO. Dr David Nabarro, 2018 World Food Prize laureate, and Curator of the FSDs, would be delighted for you to contribute your expertise and experience to the global conversation. The Luxembourg Food Systems Dialogues will be an opportunity to explore options for food systems transformation for farmers and agriculture around the world, emphasizing the links with food systems more broadly. To participate in the Luxembourg FSDs, kindly register at:
At 11:00 AM

Coffee will be served

12.15 PM – 01:15 PM

High-Level Session - EAT Foundation meets the farmers of the World Farmers’ Organisation

Moderated by Mr Dimitri Houtart, Food & Rural Affairs Editor, BBC


  • Dr Fabrice De Clerck, EAT Science Director, author on the EAT-Lancet Commission, and SR Scientist with CGIAR

  • Ms Katie Milne, President, Federated Farmers, New Zealand, WFO Board member, Oceania

  • Prof Giovanni Frajese, MD, Scientific Advisor, WFO

01:15 PM – 02:30PM


02:30 PM – 04:15 PM

Innovative Finance in Agriculture

The session on Innovative Financing in Agriculture will offer the opportunity for an exchange between International Financial Institutions that invest in the agricultural sector worldwide and the world farmers’ leaders, with the aim of providing practical examples of ongoing projects and programmes and set the path for future sustainable and effective commitments.

Moderated by Mr Dimitri Houtart, Food & Rural Affairs Editor, BBC


  • Mrs Thouraya Triki, Director Sustainable Production, IFAD

  • Mr Emanuele Santi, Fund Manager, Bamboo Capital Partners

  • Ms Mi Nguyen, Co-Chair, Global Alliance on Climate Smart Agriculture, GACSA

  • H. E. Mr Timothy T.Y. Hsiang, Secretary General, ICDF - International Cooperation and Development Fund, Taiwan

  • Ms Tamisha Lee, President, Jamaica Network of Rural Women Producers, Jamaica

  • Dr Theo De Jager, President, World Farmers’ Organisation

04:10 PM – 04:15 PM

Closing Remarks by Dr Theo De Jager, President, World Farmers’ Organisation

04:30 PM – 05:30 PM

WFO Ordinary Internal Session (WFO Members only)

07:00 PM

Schengen Visit and Dinner

23 May 2019

08.00 AM

Farm Visits