Budapest, Hungary, June 8, 2022 –Today, the General Assembly, the highest decision-making body of the World Farmers’ Organisation (WFO), elected the new members of the Board of Directors.

Joining the Board of Directors are Ms Elizabeth Nsimadala, as the representative for the African Constituency, Ms Kati Partanen, as representative for the European Constituency.

Advisory Committee Chair of National Alliance of Agricultural Co-operatives in Uganda (NAAC), Elizabeth Nsimadala is President of Eastern Africa Farmers Federation (EAFF). She is a successful agriprenuer in Uganda and was awarded during the WFO 2019 General Assembly in Luxembourg as one of the exemplary women leaders in Farmers’ Organisations contributing to sustainable development.

Farmer, Member of the Board of the Central Union of Agricultural Producers and Forest Owners, MTK Finland since 2011, Kati Partanen has served WFO as Facilitator of the Women Committee since 2013.

The position of WFO Vice President was also subject to a renewal with the election of Ms Katrina Sarah Milne.  Katie Milne has served WFO as Board Member from the Oceanian Constituency since 2018.

The General Assembly confirmed Mr Sok Sotha, Vice-President of Cambodian Farmers Association – Federation of Agricultural Producers (CFAP), Cambodia, as Representative for the Asian Constituency.

The Board of Directors also includes Ms Mary Robinson, President of the Canadian Federation of Agriculture since 2019 and representative for the North American Constituency on to the WFO Board since 2020.

From the International Secretariat side, we are proud to be serving such a powerful and visionary group of farmers leaders. We want to thank Abdelmajid Ezzar, President, Union Tunisine de l’Agriculture et de la Peche (UTAP), the previous representative for the African Constituency, for his invaluable contribution to the global organised agriculture, wishing him the best of luck for the future.